Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

North Platte Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


NPPS Staff Members of the Year

Story image 1_0
Story image 1_1
Story image 1_2
Story image 1_3

March 14, 2018
Contact: Jodi Howard

NPPSF Announces Staff Award Winners

The North Platte Public Schools Foundation is pleased to announce their 2018 “Teacher of the Year”, “Staff Member
of the Year,” and “Administrator of the Year;” award winners. These exemplary district employees will be honored at
our upcoming Education After Hours event on April 6th
There are two Teacher of the Year award Winners.
The 2018 6-12th grade “Teacher of the Year”, is Madison Middle School Math Teacher Lane Swedberg
Lane Swedberg graduated from Wallace High School and then continued his education at Chadron State College.
He has his Bachelor’s degree in Middle School Education with Field Endorsements in both Math and Science. Lane
is heavily involved outside the classroom coaching middle school football and basketball as well as a varsity track.
He assists with quiz bowl, student council and FCA. He is also active in community theater most recently starring as
Mr. Bucket in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory.
The 2018 PreK-5th grade “Teacher of the Year”, Lake 4th Grade Teacher Tara Foster.
Tara Foster is originally from Tryon Nebraska. She graduated from McPherson County High School in 1998 and
graduated from Chadron State College in 2002. She taught at Our Redeemer Lutheran school for three years,

before taking a job at Lake Maloney School teaching 3rd and 4th grade. Mrs. Foster started a STEAM team of third-
fifth graders that meet every Monday after school to build their skills in Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and

Math. She is also part of the NPPS science curriculum writing team and technology team, HAL coordinator for Lake
and is very active with the schools PTO.
The 2018 “Staff Member of the Year” is McDonald Elementary Custodian Dan Koehler
Affectionately called “Big Dan” by students and staff at McDonald Elementary, Dan Koehler was nominated
and awarded staff member of the year. An avid musician Dan brings his songs alive for the students by
singing happy birthday with his guitar and even giving guitar lessons to students who earn them by doing good.
Dan not only cleans the school, he is an active participant in assembly’s and school projects. He is excellent at
his job and creates a culture at McDonald that includes and appreciates everyone.
North Platte Public Schools Foundation, Inc.

301 W. F Street
North Platte, NE 69101

The 2018 “Administrator of the Year”, is Washington Elementary Principal Greg Fruhwirth.
Greg Fruhwirth graduated from Larimore High School and received a Bachelor’s degree from the University of North
Dakota in Elementary and Special Education, and a Master’s degree is in Educational Leadership from Colorado
He is married to Barb who is employed as a 1st grade teacher at Eisenhower. They have 3 children. In 2013 He
became the Principal at Washington Elementary. Before Washington, he was a principal at Wray Elementary for 8
years in Wray, Colorado. His teaching career lasted 25 years, he taught Special Education, 4th and 6th Grade in
Fowler, Colorado. Greg also coached Girls Basketball, Football, Baseball and Track. Greg’s contribution to NPPS
has led to Washington Elementary becoming a district leader in student performance. Greg is often seen participating
in school events throughout the district and running distance races around the state.
Nominations for these outstanding staff members were made by students, parents, community members and
employees from the North Platte Public School District. These awards recognize and encourage superior
professional effort to improve instruction and to cultivate the continuation of education excellence in our
schools. Teacher and Staff Member Award Winners will receive a plaque and a $250 cash award.
Administrators will receive a plaque and $1000 extra budget authority for their building/administrative area.
Awards will be presented at North Platte Public Schools Foundation “Education After Hours” event on Friday
April 6th from 5:30-8:00 p.m. at the Holiday Inn Express. Tickets are $25 each ($20 for NPPSD staff) and
available online at nppsf.org or at the Foundation office. Please call 696-3325 in advance to schedule pick up.